What Is Lymphoma?

By jolene
Article Sources Article Sources
Medical Expert Medical Expert

2. Non-Hodgkin Lymphoma

Non-Hodgkin lymphoma (NHL) is the most common type of lymphoma. Like Hodgkin lymphoma, it can also be further divided into several subtypes where each subtype has different features. NHL can be divided according to the type of lymphocyte the lymphoma starts in, how it looks under a microscope, the chromosome features of the cells or the presence of specific proteins on the surface of malignant cells. Some examples of subtypes are follicular lymphoma, diffuse large cell lymphoma, mantle cell lymphoma, marginal zone lymphoma, and Burkitt lymphoma. Prognosis-wise, NHL can be divided into indolent and aggressive. The various subtypes of NHL help oncologists to predict prognosis and decide which treatment option may be best.


Home | Privacy Policy | Editorial | | About Us

This site offers information designed for entertainment & educational purposes only. With any health related topic discussed on this site you should not rely on any information on this site as a substitute for professional medical diagnosis, treatment, advice, or as a substitute for, professional counseling care, advice, treatment, or diagnosis. If you have any questions or concerns about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other health-care professional.