Leg Pain Causes, Treatments & More

Author
By priscilla
Reviewed
Reviewed: dr. stavarache
Article Sources Article Sources
  • 1. 'Don't Let Foot Cramps and Charley Horses Slow You Down.' Cleveland Clinic, health.clevelandclinic.org/dont-let-foot-cramps-charley-horses-slow.
  • 2. 'About Peripheral Artery Disease (PAD).' Heart.org, heart.org/en/health-topics/peripheral-artery-disease/about-peripheral-artery-disease-pad.
  • 3. 'What is Venous Thromboembolism (VTE)?' Heart.org, heart.org/en/health-topics/venous-thromboembolism/what-is-venous-thromboembolism-vte.
  • 4. 'Shin Splints.' NHS.UK, www.nhs.uk/conditions/shin-splints.
  • 5. 'Leg Fracture.' Harvard Health, health.harvard.edu/a/to/z/leg-fracture-a-to-z.
  • 6. Jadhav, S. P., et al., 'Comprehensive Review of the Anatomy, Function, and Imaging of the Popliteus and Associated Pathologic Conditions.' Radiological Society of North America, pubs.rsna.org/doi/10.1148/rg.342125082.
  • 7. 'Hamstring Injury.' NHS.UK, www.nhs.uk/conditions/hamstring-injury.
  • 8. 'Leg Pain: MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia.' MedlinePlus, medlineplus.gov/ency/article/003182.htm.
Medical Expert Medical Expert

2. Charley Horse

A charley horse is a muscle cramp that is common in the legs but can occur in any muscle.1‘Don’t Let Foot Cramps and Charley Horses Slow You Down.’ Cleveland Clinic, health.clevelandclinic.org/dont-let-foot-cramps-charley-horses-slow. The pain can become severe if the contractions occur over several seconds. Severe charley horses can cause muscle soreness that may last for up to a day.

As long as the pain doesn't recur and is not prolonged, there is no cause for worry, and home treatment is often adequate. However, frequent charley horses may indicate an underlying health issue.

Leg Pain

Related Articles

Home | Privacy Policy | Editorial | | About Us

This site offers information designed for entertainment & educational purposes only. With any health related topic discussed on this site you should not rely on any information on this site as a substitute for professional medical diagnosis, treatment, advice, or as a substitute for, professional counseling care, advice, treatment, or diagnosis. If you have any questions or concerns about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other health-care professional.