Leg Pain Causes, Treatments & More

Author
By priscilla
Reviewed
Reviewed: dr. stavarache
Article Sources Article Sources
  • 1. 'Don't Let Foot Cramps and Charley Horses Slow You Down.' Cleveland Clinic, health.clevelandclinic.org/dont-let-foot-cramps-charley-horses-slow.
  • 2. 'About Peripheral Artery Disease (PAD).' Heart.org, heart.org/en/health-topics/peripheral-artery-disease/about-peripheral-artery-disease-pad.
  • 3. 'What is Venous Thromboembolism (VTE)?' Heart.org, heart.org/en/health-topics/venous-thromboembolism/what-is-venous-thromboembolism-vte.
  • 4. 'Shin Splints.' NHS.UK, www.nhs.uk/conditions/shin-splints.
  • 5. 'Leg Fracture.' Harvard Health, health.harvard.edu/a/to/z/leg-fracture-a-to-z.
  • 6. Jadhav, S. P., et al., 'Comprehensive Review of the Anatomy, Function, and Imaging of the Popliteus and Associated Pathologic Conditions.' Radiological Society of North America, pubs.rsna.org/doi/10.1148/rg.342125082.
  • 7. 'Hamstring Injury.' NHS.UK, www.nhs.uk/conditions/hamstring-injury.
  • 8. 'Leg Pain: MedlinePlus Medical Encyclopedia.' MedlinePlus, medlineplus.gov/ency/article/003182.htm.
Medical Expert Medical Expert

Leg pain can have many causes. Some of the most common causes include excessive stress on the leg and injuries from a fall or other trauma, such as a sports-related injury. It can also be caused by health issues related to bones, soft tissues, joints, muscles, nerves and blood vessels.

The cause of the leg pain determines the appropriate treatment, and home treatment is often adequate. However, if the pain is persistent, severe and sudden or other symptoms are present alongside the pain, it may indicate a severe health issue that requires immediate medical attention.

1. Causes

The causes of leg pain can be vascular, musculoskeletal, neurological or a combination of all three. Vascular causes include peripheral artery disease, deep vein thrombosis, infections, cellulitis, varicose eczema and varicose veins. These conditions often result in the discoloration of the skin.

Musculoskeletal causes include crepitus and arthritis. Crepitus involves a cracking or popping sound in the knee. Arthritis is a degenerative disease of the joints, such as the ankle, knee or hip. A fall that strains a ligament, tendon or muscle may also cause musculoskeletal leg pain. Neurological causes include sciatic nerve pain, nerve damage and restless leg syndrome.

Leg Pain

Related Articles

Home | Privacy Policy | Editorial | | About Us

This site offers information designed for entertainment & educational purposes only. With any health related topic discussed on this site you should not rely on any information on this site as a substitute for professional medical diagnosis, treatment, advice, or as a substitute for, professional counseling care, advice, treatment, or diagnosis. If you have any questions or concerns about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other health-care professional.