10 Common Causes of Right Side Pain

Author
By shirley
Reviewed
Reviewed: dr. vanta
Article Sources Article Sources
  • 1. Rull, Dr Gurvinder. 'Right Upper Quadrant (RUQ) Pain - Symptoms, Diagnosis and Investigations.' Patient.info, 25 Jan. 2019, patient.info/doctor/right-upper-quadrant-pain
  • 2. 'Appendicitis.' Mayo Clinic, Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, 24 May 2019, www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/appendicitis/symptoms-causes/syc-20369543
  • 3. 'Gas in the Digestive Tract.' Johns Hopkins Medicine, www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/gas-in-the-digestive-tract
  • 4. 'Kidney Infection.' Mayo Clinic, Mayo Foundation for Medical Education and Research, 26 Aug. 2020, www.mayoclinic.org/diseases-conditions/kidney-infection/symptoms-causes/syc-20353387
  • 5. 'Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS).' National Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, www.niddk.nih.gov/health-information/digestive-diseases/irritable-bowel-syndrome
  • 6. 'CDC -What Is Inflammatory Bowel Disease (IBD)? - Inflammatory Bowel Disease - Division of Population Health.' Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 22 Mar. 2018, www.cdc.gov/ibd/what-is-IBD.htm
  • 7. 'Ovarian Cysts.' Womenshealth.gov, 1 Apr. 2019, www.womenshealth.gov/a-z-topics/ovarian-cysts
  • 8. 'Ectopic Pregnancy.' ACOG, www.acog.org/womens-health/faqs/ectopic-pregnancy
  • 9. 'Ovarian Torsion.' Yale Medicine, Yale Medicine, 11 Nov. 2019, www.yalemedicine.org/conditions/ovarian-torsion
  • 10. 'Inguinal Hernia: Types, Symptoms, Diagnosis & Treatments.' Cleveland Clinic, my.clevelandclinic.org/health/diseases/16266-inguinal-hernia
  • 11. 'Gallbladder Disease.' Johns Hopkins Medicine, www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/gallbladder-disease
Medical Expert Medical Expert

Gas

Gas in the digestive tract may cause pain in the right side of the abdomen. Accompanying symptoms may include belching, flatulence and bloating. Gas pains may only occur occasionally. Dietary or medication changes may alleviate chronic gas pain issues, but sometimes gas pains are signs of more serious conditions. If gas pains persist, a medical evaluation may be wise.

To diagnose the cause of gas pains, the physician may review the person's diet. Tests may include X-rays, sigmoidoscopy, colonoscopy and an upper GI series.3‘Gas in the Digestive Tract.’ Johns Hopkins Medicine, www.hopkinsmedicine.org/health/conditions-and-diseases/gas-in-the-digestive-tract

Pain

Related Articles

Home | Privacy Policy | Editorial | Unsubscribe | | About Us

This site offers information designed for entertainment & educational purposes only. With any health related topic discussed on this site you should not rely on any information on this site as a substitute for professional medical diagnosis, treatment, advice, or as a substitute for, professional counseling care, advice, treatment, or diagnosis. If you have any questions or concerns about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other health-care professional.