What Is Uveitis?

By boone
Article Sources Article Sources
Medical Expert Medical Expert

3. What Are the Three Types of Uveitis?

Uveitis can affect one or more portions of the uvea. It is diagnosed and classified into three main types based on which parts are primarily displaying symptoms. The most common form is known as anterior uveitis. It affects the iris in one or both eyes. It is generally diagnosed in otherwise healthy people and is relatively easy to treat.

Intermediate uveitis occurs within the central portion of the uvea. It has an increased link to certain autoimmune disorders like multiple sclerosis. Posterior uveitis occurs when there is swelling of the choroid in the back of the eye. It is often caused by a bacterial, fungal or parasitic infection, but may also be caused by an autoimmune disease. It can lead to serious and permanent damage to the eye if left untreated.


Related Articles

Home | Privacy Policy | Editorial | Unsubscribe | | About Us

This site offers information designed for entertainment & educational purposes only. With any health related topic discussed on this site you should not rely on any information on this site as a substitute for professional medical diagnosis, treatment, advice, or as a substitute for, professional counseling care, advice, treatment, or diagnosis. If you have any questions or concerns about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other health-care professional.