Facebook has been in the news quite a lot recently, and not for the right reasons. Recent events have revealed how their users’ data is not as safe as was previously thought and many people are looking to safeguard their security. For some people, this means permanently closing their Facebook account.
While the process of closing a Facebook account may seem simple at first, it doesn’t always go as smoothly as you might hope. There is also the issue of retrieving important data and removing images and other files that you don’t wish people to see. Follow the steps below, however, and closing your Facebook account should go as smoothly as it possibly can.
Delete Your Facebook Account Step #1: Tell Your Friends
Remember that Facebook is likely to be the only way that you have any contact with a lot of people. Once you no longer have access to Facebook, then you could lose all communication with them. Disappearing from Facebook altogether without giving a reason may well also cause some people to be concerned about what has happened to you.
With this in mind, you should contact the people that are important to you and you would like to remain in touch with. Maybe you can share details of an alternative social media platform, or maybe even just swap email addresses. You wouldn’t want to try to contact somebody in the future only to find you are unable to, so it’s wise to prepare first.