What Is the Duodenum?

By albert
Reviewed: Dr. Gromatzky
Article Sources Article Sources
Medical Expert Medical Expert

2. Four Segments

The second segment, which is the descending part, begins at the duodenal flexure and is inferior to L3, before proceeding to the inferior duodenal flexure. The third part of the duodenum, called the horizontal or inferior segment, is 10 to 12 centimeters long.

It begins at the inferior duodenal flexure and passes in front of the interior vena cava, aorta, and vertebral column. The fourth part, or ascending segment, is located at the L3, and becomes the duodenojejunal flexure, and goes on to join the jejunum.


Home | Privacy Policy | Editorial | | About Us

This site offers information designed for entertainment & educational purposes only. With any health related topic discussed on this site you should not rely on any information on this site as a substitute for professional medical diagnosis, treatment, advice, or as a substitute for, professional counseling care, advice, treatment, or diagnosis. If you have any questions or concerns about your health, you should always consult with a physician or other health-care professional.